Texas Forensic Science Commission

Justice Through Science

Texas Forensic Science Commission Crime Laboratory Accreditation Program

The 84th Texas Legislature passed Senate Bill-1287, signed into law by Governor Abbott on June 20, 2015. This bill transferred the responsibility for accrediting crime laboratories from the Texas Department of Public Safety (“DPS”) to the Texas Forensic Science Commission (“Commission”) effective September 1, 2015. See Tex. S.B. 1287, 84th Leg., R.S. (2015). The Commission sent a notification letter to affected laboratories describing the change on August 21, 2015. The letter can be accessed here.

As part of the transitional process, Commission staff and the Texas Secretary of State transferred DPS crime laboratory accreditation laws to the Commission’s section of the Texas Administrative Code. See 37 Tex. Admin. Code § 15 (Tex. Forensic Sci. Comm., Crime Laboratory Accreditation). As a result of the direct transfer, the Commission’s Crime Laboratory Accreditation Program currently mirrors the former DPS Crime Lab Accreditation Program. The Commission may establish or amend the DPS accreditation rules over time, but until any changes are made, crime labs shall adhere to the current rules.

Accredited Labs in Texas

Accredited Labs Outside Texas

See Recognized Accrediting Bodies.

See Disciplines Subject to and Exempt from Commission Accreditation.

To apply for Accreditation, please click here for more information.

As of September 1, 2015, please send all required crime laboratory accreditation documents to the Commission at:

Texas Forensic Science Commission
ATTN: Crime Laboratory Accreditation Program
1700 North Congress Avenue, Suite 445
Austin, Texas 78701

You may also email accreditation-related inquiries to Leigh Savage, the Commission’s Crime Lab Accreditation Program Administrator, at Leigh@fsc.texas.gov or call directly at (512) 936-0661.

Back to Top